Year In Review

So New Year’s Eve. The end of the year two-thousand-and-nine. Here we are and I’m not feeling particularly sentimental, despite it being the year I finally got a couch. That’s probably because I’ve been in transition mode all year. I thought about moving. Then I moved. Then I had to find a job. Several times. During a recession. Now I have to put up with the job I got and am impatient to figure out things like graduate school, where I’m going to live, and how often I’m going to get to see my boyfriend (I vote for EVERY DAY). So good riddance, really. But in an effort to put a positive spin on a rather comme ci comme ça year, here are some of the things that DID make me crack a smile this past year:

  • Favorite movie: Fantastic Mr. Fox; managed to be true to both Anderson and Dahl, which means artful, a bit dark, and completely hilarious.
  • Favorite movie moment: the Joseph Gordon Levitt dance sequence in 500 Days of Summer and Harry Potter drunk on Felix Felicis in Half-Blood Prince tie. “Well come along then.” Ahahaha. Ha.
  • Favorite album: My Maudlin Career by Camera Obscura; there isn’t a song on here I don’t LOVE. It’s the album I’ve listened to most consistently since it’s release.
  • Favorite single: I’m an Animal by Neko Case; I admit, until I heard this single (in the Gap *ahem*), I never quite got Neko Case. I wanted to. I tried. But it just wadn’t happenin’. This song made me need all of Middle Cyclone, and as a result, all of her backlist too.
  • Favorite novel: My One Hundred Adventures by Polly Horvath; okay, so TECHNICALLY, this came out in September 2009, but I get most of my reading from the library, so that I read this within six months of it’s publish date is saying something. It was a Polly Horvath year for me, really. First I read The Trolls and that got me hooked. I’ve read just about everything she’s written since, and it’s all fantastic, but Horvath breaks her own mold here. The sequel, Northward to the Moon is one of the things I’m most excited for in 2010.
  • Favorite picture book: Princess Hyacinth by Florence Parry Heide and illustrated by Lane Smith; of course one of the very best illustrated books of the year has Lane Smith’s name across the cover. He is a digital superstar. So few people can create illustration on the computer that doesn’t scream “I MADE THIS IN PHOTOSHOP” while you stare disappointedly at that very lacking brush quality, wondering why they didn’t just pick up a real paint brush. Smith has a fantastic since of texture and palette that doesn’t leave my eye caught on the parts that don’t work. Because it all works. I want to take the pages from this book and frame them all individually. Plus the story is cute too.
  • Favorite exhibit: Cy Twombly: The Natural World, Selected Works from 2000-2007 at the Art Institute of Chicago; I saw this four times. The kind of gorgeous that makes your heart feel like it’s going to pound it’s way right through your chest.
  • Favorite website: goodreads.com; still.
  • Favorite blogs: Kris Atomic and Lalalindsey.com; two very different girls that get me excited about life in two very different ways. Both ladies I’ve raved about in the past, both still worth checking out.
  • Favorite scent: Lemon and pomegranate by C.O. Bigelow; I love the scent of lemon, but it’s hard to come by a fragrance that won’t make everyone around you think of Lysol. Plus C.O. Bigelow makes lovely, light lotions for the highly sensitive (i.e. me).

2009 was also marked by more growth on the part of my previously very picky taste buds. This year I (finally, some would say) developed an appetite for the following:

  • Peas
  • Hot tea and some espresso-containing beverages
  • Sushi
  • Calamari
  • Crab rangoon

But enough of that. ONWARD, I SAY. I’m looking forward to more art-making, more eating, and more Ben in 2010. And a haircut. I need one of those.

Happy New Year, internerds!

4 thoughts on “Year In Review

  1. Wow- you have tried some new foods, I’m proud and shocked! also, I do not recognize the picture of the man shaking hands with little people, what is that from/for?

  2. wait- you didn’t make it, I looked closer at things, now I see that they are not all your art work.
    got it- sorry.

  3. AMEN, Sister. Especially love the Harry Potter reference you stuck in there (gee – what a surprise). Gotta love a drunk Potter (you must say this the way Draco Malfoy would say it)! I still have that Mad magazine Harry Potter edition that you gave me. every time i look at it it reminds me of your lovely face. hope you are all snuggied up over there in the big windy city! xoxo.

Leave a Reply

