meep meep

Martha Stewart-style holiday craft fact:

Stale peeps make good stamps. And that, folks, is about as crafty as I get. Stale food and poster paints.

A lot of people are surprised to hear me refute the title of crafty. They think arty and crafty are interchangeable terms. I have a lot of respect and envy for true crafters, people who can make things; take a pile of stuff and turn it into an object. But me? I can barely work a glue gun. I’m determined to become craftier, though. Like Fairuza Bulk — I’mma fill your toilet full of maggots! Ahhahhahaha… But really. I got a sewing machine for Christmas and have yet to overcome my fear (which is actually just ignorance, as so much fear is. Long sigh…) of bobbins. Embroidery I’ve been somewhat successful in wrapping my brain and fingers around because I approach it as (painstakingly slow) drawing with string. I’ve set a few goals for myself in this area:

  • learn how to hem (lord help me if this one ain’t attainable)
  • sew a doll!! with clothes!!
  • screenprinting. finally.

There are of course a million other things I’d like to take on. One simply can’t watch as much HGTV as I do and not constantly be telling lies about the DIY projects you’re going to take on. For now though, baby steps. Which leads me to my next SUBJECT.

I FINALLY GOT A DAMNED WACOM TABLET. All of my digital work has been done with a mouse. Forever. Which is actually pretty ridiculous. All those years! All that clicking! It’s actually become quite natural to me, and I’m pretty smooth with it, but man. What was I waiting for? Strangely, the tablet pen feels more unnatural to me than a whole mouse in my fist, but y’all know what they say ’bout practice… which is what I’m going to do right now because that is how I get down on a Saturday night.

Leave a Reply

