Madeline at Ten

I’ve been playing around with new portfolio and web hosting options, looking for something that will make updating less time consuming. In the meantime, updates to shecanliftahorse.com have hit the breaks, which means I haven’t shared much of the custom portraiture work I’ve been doing –which is actually the bulk of the work I do. So without further ado, here’s summa dat:

This portrait was drawn as a gift for a girl named Madeline on the occasion of her 10th birthday. Madeline I actually know (she’s my sister’s niece) so it was easier than usual to think of fun scenarios to draw and personal details to add (I’m told the first thing she noticed when she saw the print were the tiny panda bear earrings, which makes me so happy.) She loves animals and drawing and dark, creepy things. The shift in the color schemes from bubble gum pink to bold red and black is just another example of my tendency to draw in shades of pink regardless of the subject. She may be the ten year old girl, but that’s truly a reflection of me.

Here’s the completed 10″x10″ print, followed by my sketches.

Thanks to parents Sarah and Gabe for such a fun commission. I hope it’s something Maddy enjoys for years to come, potentially feels mortified by for only a brief period as a teenager, then finally comes to enjoy again. :)

Madeline | custom portrait by Nicole J. Wroblewski / She Can Lift a Horse

Madeline | custom portrait by Nicole J. Wroblewski / She Can Lift a Horse

Madeline | custom portrait by Nicole J. Wroblewski / She Can Lift a Horse

Madeline | custom portrait by Nicole J. Wroblewski / She Can Lift a Horse

Madeline | custom portrait sketches by Nicole J. Wroblewski / She Can Lift a Horse

Madeline | custom portrait sketches by Nicole J. Wroblewski / She Can Lift a Horse

2 thoughts on “Madeline at Ten

Leave a Reply

